FedEx experience

achaios

Forum Supporter
I ordered a wide angle lens for my camera, and luckily the merchant had it shrinkwrapped and well padded, because it arrived with the box just about falling apart because it was soaked in some sort of liquid detergent or cleaning fluid. Comparing USPS and FedEx, I believe FedEx has a solid lead in package mistreatment. They are about tied in tracking inaccuracy.

FedEx is the same company that instead of delivering 12 1-liter bottles of soda packaged in a styrofoam shipping box, delivered 11 sticky 1-liter bottles of soda in a plastic bag.

Those who use FedEx very often, is your experience the same?

-- Tom

We get deliveries almost every day to our 4 member household. So far no issues with FedEx or UPS although USPS may have dropped the ball on a very expensive package that never arrived. Now it’s a pushing match between them and the co. that shipped.

I have been using FedEx & UPS for about 25 years as both a shipper and a receiver. Most of my experience has been Priority Overnight. In general, for this type of delivery, FedEx has done better for us than UPS. Ground packages were generally better with UPS. I have found certain areas at times where one was worse than the other.
Spills on packages are generally not the fault of UPS or FedEx. This happens when a shipper fails to pack a package correctly and it leaks on other packages. The package of the 1 liter bottles is an good example of poor packaging by the vendor. I shipped Live Marine Fish and had to get my packages inspected and certified in order to ship FedEx as all my packages contained water in plastic bags in a styrofoam box. I was warned that I was liable if they leaked and could lose my shipping account if this happened.