• Forum server maintanace Friday night.(around 7PM Centeral time)
    Website will be off line for a short while.

You may need to log out, log back in after we're back online.

New to metal detecting

roemills

Hey guys and gals I'm new to metal detecting! I've just gotten the bh discovery 1100 off amazon and I've been not haveing much luck.😭 I search an old 1850 house and front lawn (although super forested) and found nearly nothing but scrap! I also searched a bit of a 1910 house just around it and found less scrap. I sometimes get hits and dig 10-14 inches or more and find nothing. I'm sort of sad right now. I just would really, really appreciate any advice you've got for me! Thanks!

Ps. I really would like to find coins!

Hey guys and gals I'm new to metal detecting! I've just gotten the bh discovery 1100 off amazon and I've been not haveing much luck.😭 I search an old 1850 house and front lawn (although super forested) and found nearly nothing but scrap! I also searched a bit of a 1910 house just around it and found less scrap. I sometimes get hits and dig 10-14 inches or more and find nothing. I'm sort of sad right now. I just would really, really appreciate any advice you've got for me! Thanks!

Ps. I really would like to find coins!

Keep swim and keep digging. That's the first tip, when you can't dig anymore junk at all and you are about to snap your detector shaft over your knee, look for a repeatable signal before you dig. So if it sounds good one way try swinging at 90 degrees and if the tone changes. 90+% of the time that will be falsing iron. But dig a few of those too.

And welcome from SW WI

My biggest and best advice for you is to be patient. The good stuff will come, but you first need to learn what your machine is telling you. DO NOT expect to dig up something good every time or you'll walk away from the hobby very disappointed. If it were that easy everybody would own a metal detector and everyone would have a terrible looking lawn :laughing: