• Forum server maintanace Friday night.(around 7PM Centeral time)
    Website will be off line for a short while.

You may need to log out, log back in after we're back online.

Vanquish 540 Pinpointing Technique Advice

bringinthecat

Just upgraded recently from a ~$100 detector to the 540. I'm still a noob - have been detecting about a year. My trips tend to be very short (but frequent) due to various personal circumstances.

First time out with the vanquish I dug a lot of trash, but had no problem pulling up my finds.

Second time out I dug 4 holes and popped trash out of two and clad out of two. (Yay!)

Yesterday I dug at least 4 ghost holes, and pulled trash out of a couple of poorly dug holes where I had to go over almost as much as a coil width from where I had thought the target was. (I also found a shallow giant piece of crumpled aluminum siding that screamed loudly in the mid-upper 30s - thought I was going to pull up silver!)

For the ghost holes, I maybe could have found it by digging deeper (I think I'm still not used to being able to get deep signals - I didn't consider that at the time) or widening the hole further, but it just seemed like I had no idea where the target really was and I wasn't willing to gouge up the area further.

To be clear, I'm 100% sure the fault is mine - I almost feel like I'm thinking too hard about it when I'm pinpointing and throwing myself off.

I'd love some tips to better understand where the sweet spot is on the coil (and related technique) for the built-in pinpointer, but also would love to hear tips for getting better at the wiggle/sweep/X technique. This is the V8 coil - I'm always hunting in trash.

Thanks!

Good targets worth keeping give a good, solid signal and pinpoint precisely.
Give your self time. Something about you and that 540 will begin to click once you put in enough time with it. Be sure to use headphones of some type if it did not come with headphones.