Your best Pitch!!

DonJuann

What is you best Pitch for asking permission??? Please be specific....like what are you doing wiht the stuff you find....

No pitch, just simply ask permission. If they say no, just move on to the next one. If they seem interested, but hesitant then you have a decision to try to build up a relationship and get permission or just move on.

i dont cold call exactly.
I am a contractor and if the house im working on looks promising i try to do a little research on the history of the house/land then present it to the owner and if they seem interested then i slip in that i would like to MD their property and that if i find anything that might be of interest to them ill let them know.
its worked every time so far!
I think that getting people interested in the history of their house or land is the key and if i ever do cold call then i will probably show up with some information/history on the location to use as an ice breaker

Honestly I'm a bit shy most of the time & have big trouble asking permission, So I send my wife who was lucky enough to be born with the gift of gab..:D

Depends on what I find at the front door. You've got to read the type of person that you're about to ask. I also take a quick look around and look for signs that the owner may be insulted. A very well manicured lawn with everything in its place is not a good sign. These people can be offended just by asking to hunt their property.

I usually start with a Hello! I'm a bit of a history buff and I find your place to be very interesting. Can you tell me how old it might be? Would you mind if SOMEDAY I was to use my metal detector? What am I looking for? I look mostly for old relics people might have dropped years ago. How do I do it? My detector has a computer that tells me what is there be fore I recover it. I use this flathead screwdriver[flash the tip of my screwdriver] to pop it out.