Road trip DFW TX to South FL - first finds

southof157

Quite recently had to go to South Florida for business. Decided to make it a road trip and planned for a couple of stops (mainly coastal Florida).
Not only would I get to see more of this country, more importantly I'd pick up some MD time along the way. The latter for sure, since I'm a newbie as it comes to the hobby, and so far only have had my backyard for target practice.

Before I went, made sure to check the forums of do's and dont's, where I could or couldn't use or bring the metal detector, and what to look or listen for.
A big thank you to all that put threads and comments/opinions out there, which contributed to a successful road trip.

Overall was a nice trip, despite quite a bit of rain, which I could have gotten at home as well. Saw several other MD folks and chatted with a couple of them.
While MD'ing, some people walking nearby, did come over and chatted for a few moments. Those moments you have to pick to make some jokes too.
For example I'd say it's his or her turn to MD for some time while I'd rest and be an onlooker. Funny how humor will get you friendly faces quicker.
And at the same time, why not get others interested too.

As for opposition or otherwise so to speak, no one told me it wasn't allowed to hunt in certain spots. Then again, I make sure to check/ask at hotels I stayed at, if beaches or areas were public or if there were any private areas. No issue from them at all.

Once back from the trip, sorted through the finds and took some pics. Do have to say I did not take everything I found, home. A lot of trash I dumped at trash cans at/near the sites.
And as you'll see, not all finds were made/picked up by using the detector. I kept an eye on the ground for sea shells or other items.