Sebastian Inlet Trip coming up

Bioheat1969

Happy New year everyone. After months and months of double shifts plus additional over time due to the pandemic, my wife and I are planning a few days in Florida in April. She was doing a little research on where we were going to stay, and stumbled across an on-line story about the 1715 fleet, and the treasure coast. That story got her, she decided we were going to Sebastian Inlet, and bringing the metal detector.
First let me say this is a trip strictly for fun, we are:
A) NOT expecting to actually find anything.
B) We know they replenish the beaches with sand.
C) We know the best chances if you are going to find anything are after a big storm.

So all that being said, I have questions, since I've never done any salt beach hunting before. I use a Minelab X-Terra with a stock DD coil, how careful of the water do I have to be with the coil?
Is there much difference from field hunting and beach hunting?
I don't currently have a sand scoop, and the wife wants one, any recommendations on a travel scoop that can break down for luggage?
Does anyone have any recommendations on the parts of the beach to spend our time, we were looking to search the shell line and base of the dunes, is that the correct strategy to take?

I appreciate any advise given, thanks in advance.
Harvey

Last edited:
Happy New year everyone. After months and months of double shifts plus additional over time due to the pandemic, my wife and I are planning a few days in Florida in April. She was doing a little research on where we were going to stay, and stumbled across an on-line story about the 1715 fleet, and the treasure coast. That story got her, she decided we were going to Sebastian Inlet, and bringing the metal detector.
First let me say this is a trip strictly for fun, we are:
A) NOT expecting to actually find anything.
B) We know they replenish the beaches with sand.