• Forum server maintanace Friday night.(around 7PM Centeral time)
    Website will be off line for a short while.

You may need to log out, log back in after we're back online.

Total novice from Bucks County Pa

Bophus

I’m totally new to metal detecting and very willing and eager to learn. I’m in upper bucks county Pennsylvania currently. We are planning on moving a little north to the pocono area shortly.

I don’t really know what I’m doing. Don’t really know what to skip yet, but I’m learning. I bought a Fisher F22 and a pin pointer to start. I’ve only really hunted Nockamixon state park, but have no idea where I should be looking, the trails I went down proved fruitless and Ive found only trash and an old padlock venturing into the woods.

Any advice or recommendations are welcome and I hope I can become somewhat knowledgeable and help others in the future.

Welcome from Winnsboro, South Carolina !!!!

Location is always a prime factor in metal detecting as you can't find what ain't there.

Not being familiar with your area I can't offer specific locations.

Generally speaking as far as out of the way places you need to do research to see if there used to be activity in areas you might consider.

Here is one resource to see what old aerial photos there might be:

https://www.historicaerials.com/viewer

Other than that some ideas are:

Detect your own property, just might be surprised what you might find

Local parks (as long as there are not any "no metal detecting" signs)

Private property permissions, try asking people you know first.

......before digging on other's properties be sure you have practiced digging good plugs in your own yard first so as to make it look as if you never dug in the first place.

Welcome from central Mass, one good thing to do when learning what your detector is telling you is dig everything. That way you’ll get familiar with the different sounds targets make.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk