Vanquish 440

Canada Swinger

Hi I just got started at Metal Detecting and haven't got out any where but my yard. Just wondering if anyone that has a Vanquish 440 have any tips or anything to help a newbie.

I started about 6 weeks ago with my new Vanquish 540. My suggestions:
1.) If you're looking for coins, test one of each laying on the ground just to get an idea of the VDI #.
2.) Watch youtube videos! So many good ones out there talking about starting out. (I've found the videos by DetectorBen and The History Digger to be the most helpful.)
3.) Practice digging plugs in your backyard first. You shouldn't be able to tell where you dug.
4.) Be prepared to dig LOTS of trash in the form of nails, pop tops, pull tabs, aluminum foil, can slaw, etc. Soon you'll have plenty of motivation to learn how to avoid digging those. :)

Good Luck and Happy Hunting.

I am also a noob (I ordered a Vanquish 440 today, have been using an old RadioShack detector). I would say to read the V440 owner's manual if you have not already.

Just search for it on Google and download the PDF (I don't think it comes in the box). The manual has some information on the different modes (coin, relic, jewelry, all metal) and how they differ in depth, discrimination, and recovery speed.

Another thing which would be helpful (on page 14 of the manual) is to check signals using all metal mode (horseshoe button). The three main modes on the V440 (coin, relic, jewelry) discriminate out iron by default, so if you sweep the coil over a "mixed signal," you will only hear the non-ferrous component. However, if you check the target in all metal mode, you might be able to hear a ferrous signal (low tone) mixed in, which could indicate trash. I will definitely utilize this "trick" once I start detecting with the V440.

1.) If you're looking for coins, test one of each laying on the ground just to get an idea of the VDI #.