• Forum server maintanace Friday night.(around 7PM Centeral time)
    Website will be off line for a short while.

You may need to log out, log back in after we're back online.

Another Golden after-work Hunt!

Compass

Forum Supporter
A friend of mine said that he was heading down to the beach after work on Friday so I said I'd join him. There were some encouraging surf reports but I wasn't too optimistic because I didn't think that the tide was all that favorable. Like I've said many times before- "I'm still learning almost every time I go detecting at the beach."
We got to the beach a couple of hours after high tide. There was a strong on-shore wind and the seas were fairly rough. The waves were coming in pretty hard and fast and were kissing the existing cut. I don't think that they were getting high enough on the slope to cut any more but the existing sand on the slope was moving around I believe.
As soon as I started hunting the wet sand I started finding coins at a surprising clip- most of them mid-slope. Not long after starting I found my first gold of the hunt- an eyeball find. "Poppy" was laying on top of a patch of black sand not unlike the gold chain I found a week ago. A short time later I found a very small gold ring. I'm not sure if it is a toe ring or a child's ring but it is stamped "14BK" (???)
picture.php

picture.php

For the next couple of hours my friend and I continued to find coins. It started to feel like my last couple of hunts when I started finding rings on the lower slope as the tide went out. I told my buddy that I felt that there was going to be a good possibility of finding rings but, unfortunately, he had to leave.