• Forum server maintanace Friday night.(around 7PM Centeral time)
    Website will be off line for a short while.

You may need to log out, log back in after we're back online.

Not sure what this is

Keliasz

Ok so im new to metal detecting. had my AT Pro about 3 weeks now and have had some time to get used to it and what its telling me. Went to the In-Laws house in Tobyhanna PA, for a birthday party and figured since the wifes dad was gonna tear up and re level the back yard he would let me dig into it. He sure did and i found 12 cents in clad, an aluminum clamp, a whole 6 foot length of aluminum siding, brown, and what seems to be a large weight of some sort. Its about 2 feet long, 6 inches thick with some holes that go all the way through. Well this damn thing weighed about 250 lbs, not even close to joking. Took three of us to lift it up and out But i have no idea what it is. Someone said it may be a counter weight for an old farm tractor.
Brick1.jpg
Brick2.jpg
Brick3.jpg
Brick4.jpg

I've seen elevator counterweights that look similar. I would bet it's a counterweight for something. What was in the area before the homes?

I'm with GKL on the tractor weight idea. Does that hole near the middle have a keyway in it? Looks kinda like some I've seen where you'd insert the crank to start the engine on some old ones.

Brother in law took it to work today put it on a scale and its exactly 250lbs. Hes got a sandblaster he wants to run over it with see if he can find a name or anything definitive.

Clad and counterweights, you're off to a good start :grin: that beats can slaw all day :laughing:

I'm intrigued as to what your find actually came from.

Definitely a counterweight. Either backhoe or maybe small crane. Counterweights can fetch some $$$ if you can figure out what it came off of!