advice on finding gold/diamond earring?

KY PI

I'm pretty new to MDing and this forum but I need advice. My mother just told me that she lost a very expensive gold/diamond earring last month when her and dad went to church. They think it may have been lost in the gravel parking lot that had a couple of inches of snow on it. I have an MXT PRO with a 12" coil plus a 4x6 shooter coil and a 6x10DD on the way. I had planned on checking the remaining earring for VDI number and hunting in C&J mode with the discrimination turned way down. I need any and all advice on helping to find this piece of jewelry since it is sentimental to her. All help will be appreciated!

Good luck!

Look at getting not just the VDI # but try to memorize the sound in discriminate mode and in pin point mode. Notice how "small" (in pin point mode) the target size is as you sweep back & forth over the target. Also note how "smooth" the sound is. This will help you tell the ear ring from the trash.

The 6X10 DD is the ideal coil for the task.

I'm no expert for sure, but I'd think you'd discriminate out all but the VDI of the other earring so all you'll hear is the earring VDI, the earing VDI minus 1 or 2 clicks and the earring VDI plus 1 or 2 clicks.

Someone else can pitch in here and indicate if I'm being too restrictive... ?

I'm no expert for sure, but I'd think you'd discriminate out all but the VDI of the other earring so all you'll hear is the earring VDI, the earing VDI minus 1 or 2 clicks and the earring VDI plus 1 or 2 clicks.

Someone else can pitch in here and indicate if I'm being too restrictive... ?

i agree. if it's a recent loss, then it's probably still on or very close to the surface. scan that other one and look for a very similar signal.

Before I did any digging,