Any advice for a complete novice?

Snoop64

Thank you for the warm welcome here!
I'd appreciate some do's & don'ts from you. Things you wished to have known when first starting out. Where I live and where I usually vacation will be beaches which will be my hunting grounds. In April I'm off to North Captiva for 2 weeks.

Thankful for any tips & leads :)

Last edited:
Welcome Snoop! First, practice with your detector....just like sighting in a new rifle before you go hunting...put down some items you will be hunting for, coins, rings, etc, and practice on them first, right in your yard...gives you and idea of what everything sounds like....

When you get to a beach, DIG it All ....Thats where you really learn, in field experiences...Try to think about your finds, locations, age of drop, etc...use all your senses to up your game....watch as many youtube vids and read a many posts as you can to get an idea of what tools you may need in your area, tricks, good ergonomic hunting habits to develop, how to 'read' a location...etc...

This will get you started off I think...establish an understanding of your gear and targets...

One thing I've found helpful is examine all of my finds, even trash. That helps me narrow the time frame of the area I am searching. Just the other day I found an old shot gun shell top. I looked up the info stamped on it and found they were made up until the mid 40's. Now I know there was activity there, and maybe some silver.

Do's and dont's? Hmm...

Don't ask the council for 'permission' to hunt parks, beaches etc. Just don't, instead...
...Do your own research regarding local laws, if you can't find anything, you should be fine.
Do dig everything until you learn what everything sounds like on your detector
Don't hunt in cemeteries.
Don't hunt in national parks.
Do read your manual before you go out, don't do what I did and just run out hoping you'd figure it out.
Do take your rubbish with you
Do learn how to dig a proper plug