Need advice on new Detector purchase

stetam

Elite Member
Let me say I am a relative newb to the hobby, only got serious this past summer since I retired. I currently have an Ace 250 and mostly detect at old home sites, farms and parks. No underwater detecting. The Ace works fairly well since I now understand what its telling me and I do like it. However I would like to upgrade this winter to a machine that has better discrimination, depth and digital target ID. Looking at something $600 and less. Since I like the Garrett and am used to it would the Ace 400 be a good choice? Recommendations?

Steve

For $600 you could get a Minelab Equinox 600 from a sponsor here or the classifieds. You can call a sponsor and ask for a lower price, they want to deal!

Oh yeah, forget about the Ace 400 it's the same as a 250 except with expanded iron range and vdi #.👎

Last edited:
I agree with the recommendation for the AT Pro. It is the next progression after the Ace series and you would be moving up to a unit that has a ground balance. This alone will give you better performance over the Ace 400 model.

I'm thinking Equinox 600 is where I want to go. Unless I can be convinced otherwise.

Steve
If you're set on an EQ600 you shouldn't need convincing otherwise. Go with your gut feeling. No matter which detector you are thinking of getting there will be folks who praise it and those who bash it.

Let me say I am a relative newb to the hobby, only got serious this past summer since I retired. I currently have an Ace 250 and mostly detect at old home sites, farms and parks. No underwater detecting. The Ace works fairly well since I now understand what its telling me and I do like it. However I would like to upgrade this winter to a machine that has better discrimination, depth and digital target ID. Looking at something $600 and less. Since I like the Garrett and am used to it would the Ace 400 be a good choice? Recommendations?

Steve