Friendly Metal Detecting Forums   River Team 6 Metal Detectors
List all sponsors

Go Back   Friendly Metal Detecting Forums > Everything About Finds > Stories and Pictures of Finds

Old 06-28-2020, 03:18 PM

Default Time capsule (long and pic heavy)

(Note: this is my first attempt at the Tapatalk app. Hope it works!)

Headed out Saturday morning to run some errands and do some hunting before it got too hot. The day started out good with a 51 silver Rosie at a coinstar!

Finished errands and headed for a local playground which was once a regular elementary school, was closed, and since has been reopened as an ‘early childhood developmental center’.
Hunted for about 3 hours. Got $5.10 in clad, a 53d wheat, assorted zippers pulls, a Juul, some junk bling, and other assorted playground paraphernalia. I also cracked a couple Ball canning lid inserts (darn, I love those things, when not broken) and added to my Hot Wheels collection.

The most interesting find came about halfway through the hunt. Got a screaming, jumpy , upper 20s on the 540. Dug it. Out comes this partially dented up coffee can. Hmmm! The black plastic cover is still on the can. I took the cover off and inside there looked to be a bunch of folded up pieces of paper. Looked interesting, but did not want to remove them from the can while out in the field..dirty hands, sweat, and all. Put the cover back on and set it aside.
I rescanned the hole and got the same signal! A little more digging and out comes another coffee can, a bit more dented! This one has a clear cover but it’s somewhat stuffed into the can itself. Looks to be more paper inside.

I set them both aside and finished my hunt.
When I got home, I called my wife out to the garage. I showed her what I found. We slowly and carefully “unbent” the cans enough so that we wouldn’t tear the papers during extraction.
One by one we took the folded pieces of paper out and looked at each one. Pretty cool!
From the first can: