Understanding Depth Indication on Garrett AT Pro

Call Me V

I'm still learning how to use my Garrett detector. I'm listening more closely to the sounds. And I'm learning that pinpointing is a skill that I definitely haven't mastered yet.

What I'm kind of confused about, however, is depth. When I run my detector over a target it might show 6-8" down. Pinpointing will show it at 4". But then I'll find the target just beneath the surface, but not until after I've dug a deep hole trying to get to the 6-8" down.

Is it soil type? My own ignorance? Some other factor?
I have the opportunity to search a 1940's house that has never been searched before, but I'm kind of putting it off until I can master the basics some. I want to cause as little damage as possible.

How do you read depth?

You don't read depth. It's very seldom accurate. If you are in good clean dirt it will be close with a quarter, but a can at 8 inch will read the same as a quarter at 3 inches. I guess depth more by raising the coil and using the TRX than the depth gauge. Your coil is an inch or 2 or 3 above the surface so a target showing 6 just below the surface ain't that far off. It's just the machines best guess base on a coin sized object.

Are you hunting pro mode? Depth is more by sound than the gauge. I don't even look at mine.

When using my Fisher 1266, depth is better indicated by tone than anything else. That may also be true of your ATP. Also, I use my hand held pin pointer a lot to determine general depth. My Garrett Pro-pointer II will not even ring if the target is deeper than about 4" . If I get solid or nearly solid tones on it, I don't even unsheath my Lesche and instead use a coin probe to recover.
I just got an Equinox 800, which is my first detector that has target ID #s and a depth indicator. I only have a couple of field hours on it but so far, I would say the depth indicator is only " roughly right" and this machine is supposed to represent the latest technology.