Ethical question

samuelad

I posted a comment on FB about using my metal detector. My former neighbor from across the street commented that I shouldn't put my dector away because there was still a $2000 ring in my front yard, probably near the street.

It seems that he and his wife got into a tiff while they were still my neighbors (probably 3 years ago) and she threw it across the street into my yard. I guess he looked for it but couldn't find it.

I searched for about an hour and did find it. I'm very new to decting and haven't found much of anything yet. With the information he gave me, I did make a significant find. Since I am so new at this, what would be the right thing to do? He and his wife are now divorced, he pays a ton in child support, they both live in a different town now, but in the same state, so he would be able to come back here to get it. Finders keepers is pretty much the rule, but if he hadn't told me, I probably would have never detected in my front yard, especially near the street.

Would like to get some input on my quandry.

Keep it. The wife sounds like an old witch anyway. Technically it was her ring and she threw it away.......................

I wasn't going to give it to her, but she has strapped him with so much child support, I'm sure if he sold it, it would help him out, and he is a friend.

That's a tough one. What is it? 18k and diamonds or something? Yeah the wife chucked it and is apparently one not to wrangle with, but at the same time you did mention that he's paying child support. It's up to you but I'd take each case as its own. If he's got a great job and can be supportive of his kids and still thrive, I'd keep it. If he's broke, living in the ghetto, and working three jobs slinging burgers, pumping gas, and strategically placing ads on websites for "penny stock millionaire" then I'd be inclined to give it back. Just my two bits though.