Prizm V review and related depth

jerster

I'm new to metal detecting and was initially confused on which metal detector to buy to start out. I wanted something relatively easy to use with solid pinpointing since I would be using this with my younger daughter and did not want to lose her interest if we dug some phantom holes.

Finally, I decided upon purchasing a new Prizm V for X-mas based, in part, on White's reputation, information found on this forum, and recommendations from folks on here like Tony.

First time out was just the other day. I decided to check out my mother's backyard. House was built in the 50's.

Spent about 1 hr out in the backyard messing around and digging some targets.

Mind you, this was the first time out for me ever, it was about 35 degrees out, and I wasn't exactly expecting too much.

When it was all said and done, my daughter and I found 5 pennys, one a wheat cent and one nickel. These were found at an average of 4-5 inches. We also dug out a hose nozzle at about 8 inches and a water turn on switch at 6 inches.

Then, we got a two hits on the 25 cent to 50 cent range at 2 inches. Well, those ended up being both matchbox type cars at 6 inches.

To top off the day, we dug out a silver ring at 8 inches. Not a bad first day!

Today, 2nd time out, I was out messing around in my backyard and found a penny at around 5 inches.

The detector then went bonkers with another 25 cent/ 50 cent indicator at 2 inches. Hmmm. Yep, I dug it anyway.

It ended up being a construction metal piece down 15-16 inches! My arm was practically in the entire hole up to and around my elbow. Never would I have thought that the Prizm 5 could detect something so deep with such a strong signal. I still don't have headphones yet, so I'm using the tones from the machine to indicate when and where to dig.