• Forum server maintanace Friday night.(around 7PM Centeral time)
    Website will be off line for a short while.

You may need to log out, log back in after we're back online.

Are TID's a scam?

Daugela

OK-

I'm new to the hobby and should be making apurchase within the week. I've been racking my brain with all the manufacturer's bells and whistles. Let me describe what my goals are and if I could get some comments to make sure I"m in the right direction.

1.) Live in Phoenix, AZ.
2.) Don't plan on traveling with it.
3.) Parks, schoolyards, and ghostowns.
4.) Primarily coins and jewelry. However my greatest find would be an old western handgun!
5.) rarely do goldshooting, but occasionally with my friend( 1X month)
6.) $800 limit

With that in mind, I'm down to the MTX and the Tesoro Vaquero.

I tried both at a local dealer and felt the ID display on the MTX wasn't very useful. The machine felt great, but I couldn't experience this "chatter" thing most MTX users complain about.

The Tesoro was simple and effective. I really liked it, but figured I couldn't go out with my buddy for some nuggetshooting.

So I'm trying to find the perfect balance. Again, nugget shooting would be a primary function. The coins would be.

THanks!

I feel like a fool- I guess I used the wrong terminology. Is the TID the TONE ID? I meant to say the coin display on the MXT. I didn't find it effectie. It read wrong several times with the dealer showing me......