Garden trowel as digging tool

TheHound

Hello, I'm not an expert and not even an amateur yet, so I would like to ask if a garden trowel is suitable for digging, or if you definitely need a shovel from a specialized store. Just for now, as far as I understand, the only difference is that the last one is made of hardened stainless steel, so, particularly there's no much of difference. Upd. Why am I asking, I was recently buying some equipment from the lists https://www.backyardstyle.com/best-garden-trowel/, https://www.backyardstyle.com/best-garden-fork/, so thought would be okay to use any of trowels from the list, but as I see that's not the right choice

Last edited:
If you're anything like me, a garden trowel will last one hunt. Invest in a nice digging tool. You won't regret it.

I've never used a shovel. Well, once, for a really deep target. The trowel is fine, until it breaks. Probably sooner than later.

I shopped around and found a couple better built trowels that looked up to surviving a while. Still using one of them. Ames 5-in-1 I think it is called.

There should be tons of threads on here about digging tools, low priced ones and "the best ones." Some use "garden knives" too. Search away!

I think that most of us started off with the family garden trowel and wore it out. By then most of us gained a group of friends like we have here on this forum which directed most of us to the next step. There are several different models available and with a wide range of prices. You will quickly find that there is one maker that has gained the respect of many and not to give a pitch in that direction I will let you do the research to find out which maker best fits your needs.

I've never used a shovel. Well, once, for a really deep target. The trowel is fine, until it breaks. Probably sooner than later.

I shopped around and found a couple better built trowels that looked up to surviving a while. Still using one of them. Ames 5-in-1 I think it is called.