Long and maybe boring but...

DirtAngler

Elite Member
I posted this on a different forum while FMDF was down so thought I'd re-post it here because of the volume of traffic this site sees. I'm fairly new to this hobby, only in it for 3 years now. I got into it because it is a hobby I can do independent of others which are few and far between. I'm a member of the physically challenged. I use this phrase instead of disabled because most challenges can be overcome by thought and trial and error and doing things in a different way from the normal. I am an upper extremity amputee at the shoulder. My remaining left shoulder, arm, wrist and hand have very limited function and dexterity. My wrist cannot flex back and is curved forward. This is all due from an electrical accident in 1989 while assisting at at car accident involving downed high voltage power lines that I contacted. I have been through many detectors. Some were purchased and then I found I couldn't work some of the functions due to my hand dexterity problems. Others proved to be too taxing on my shoulder and arm. Some I've had were the F4, Xterra 705, MXT Pro, F75, Etrac and AT Pro. Currently I have the XP Deus and Xterra as they have functions that I can work and lightweight machines. For target removal I use a Sampson shovel where I can and a lesche digger. Except for the perception problem, the Sampson is nothing more than a double wide lesche and actually makes a nicer plug than the lesche. I also had my left knee replaced a few years ago so I kneel on my right knee and just bend my left knee. Targets deeper than 10" can be a problem recovering due to my kneeling position and having no arm for support while reaching in the hole. I can't sit to do it because getting up is a problem. I've been fortunate to have found a few metal detecting friends who accept my limitations and offer assistance if needed. These individuals are members of a small informal club I formed. It's more of a meetup group. No formal m