Equinox charging issue

stetam

Elite Member
While charging my Equinox tonight instead of the slow green charge light I am getting a more rapid yellow flashing light. I looked in the manual but found nothing. Anyone experience this or know why it is doing that? I have it less than a year.

Steve

Look on the charger block. They all tell the output so no less than 2A.
Next make sure their isn’t anything stuck to the magnet plug and if their is use blue painters tape to get it off. Debris there can cause problems with charging.
The 600/800 rarely if any have problems with the detector itself.
Also some chargers have two outputs and one is 1A and the other 2A.
Harbor freight has both AC and DC chargers with both having two 2A USB outputs.
Doug

I have some experience with this. The fast flashing green light is not good and *may* eventually kill the battery. Sometimes the machine will charge normally and once its fully charged, it will start flashing intermittently at the end of the charge, this is also bad. Could be a couple of things, but replacing your minelab cord and getting the right charger is the first step. Also, the culprit is often shown by the upper left charging "dot" on the equinox,, it starts to get corroded because of the bad connection. I had my battery replaced by minelab and it worked great for 6 months. Then it started happening again and my charge time went from 8 hours to 5, to 4 and then 3. I ordered a new battery from the UK (ebay) and a new charger and cord, so far so good. No intermittent flashing. Just know that if it starts flashing really fast, disconnect from equinox until you solve the issue. Also, black sand loves to attach itself to the charging cord magnets. If you don't get this off (and its really hard to remove it) it will give you problems.