• Forum server maintanace Friday night.(around 7PM Centeral time)
    Website will be off line for a short while.

You may need to log out, log back in after we're back online.

Cross post question about the GP Pointer Chinese Knock off

vespaboy

I've seen some pretty decent reviews of this Chinese knock off of the the Garrett Carrot!
I saw one on eBay at a reasonable price, so I ordered it.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/GP-POINTER-...4AAOSwEH9ZaLPY

Any thoughts?
I'm new at the hobby so I'm starting inexpensively but hoping to get better with time....
Have I thrown away the money or is it a good starting point to add to my Ace250?

Iv'e never tried one but for under $30 it's worth a shot, and if you used paypal you should be covered in case it's not working right. Good luck with it!

I LOVE my Carrot....but I was fortunate enough to be able to afford the "real" thing. I've heard mixed reviews on the knockoffs. The main problem I've read about is quality control. It's hit or miss on whether or not they work well. One person could get one that's wonderful, the very next person has it falling apart in his hands.

I hope that yours works well....please keep us updated

Sometimes a 30 dollar gamble pays off nicely. Sometimes the dealer turns over blackjack. Let us know how it turns out!

I gave my son in law one as a gift. Air tested it first. The one I bought worked really well. It got about 70% of the depth of a higher dollar vlf pointer and about double what the cen-tech harbor freight pointer got. I only air tested so I can't comment on field performance. Seems like a decent pointer for the money. As long as you get a decently built one.

Let us know how you get along with yours.

If it works even slightly better than the centech, it would be a decent purchase.

I would have to watch the "quality" control as well.