Friendly Metal Detecting Forums   Quality Metal Detectors
List all sponsors

Go Back   Friendly Metal Detecting Forums > Everything About Finds > Lost and Found

Old 04-23-2013, 11:29 AM

Default Thoughts on lost gold wedding ring

A friend of mine lost his 18k gold wedding ring in a 2.5 foot very rocky river with a rather fast moving current. He actually has a video of the moment he loses the ring. He lost the ring 6 years ago and it happened in a spot where nobody would ever think to detect. My question is do you think the ring is still very close to where he dropped it? My non metal detecting friends unanimously think the ring has been swept miles downstream. But I think, it's most likely trapped in a crevice very close to where the event happened. I'm somewhat new to this hobby but I'm thinking of taking the long drive down there with my AT Pro to be a hero. Gold is denser than lead, which they use to make sinkers, so is my thinking crazy?

Old 04-23-2013, 11:31 AM
Elite Member

Thumbs up

Go for it - Good Luck!

Old 04-23-2013, 11:31 AM

A friend of mine lost his 18k gold wedding ring in a 2.5 foot very rocky river with a rather fast moving current. He actually has a video of the moment he loses the ring. He lost the ring 6 years ago and it happened in a spot where nobody would ever think to detect. My question is do you think the ring is still very close to where he dropped it? My non metal detecting friends unanimously think the ring has been swept miles downstream. But I think, it's most likely trapped in a crevice very close to where the event happened. I'm somewhat new to this hobby but I'm thinking of taking the long drive down there with my AT Pro to be a hero. Gold is denser than lead, which they use to make sinkers, so is my thinking crazy?

Old 04-23-2013, 11:37 AM
Elite Member

6 years! Probably within about 2 to 20 feet, down stream. Depends on so many things.

Old 04-23-2013, 11:37 AM

Old 04-23-2013, 11:41 AM
Freshwater Shark