• Forum server maintanace Friday night.(around 7PM Centeral time)
    Website will be off line for a short while.

You may need to log out, log back in after we're back online.

AT Max interference help?

Fooleeze

I'm still pretty new to the AT Max, and I'm learning quite a bit about it, but one of my issues is interference. So, when swinging in the front of my house I get some sort of electrical interference or something, and the thing just goes berzerk unless I take the sensitivity down to 1 or 2 bars. We've got some buried electrical, but that's all feet below the surface.

I was also recently at an older home with some overhead power lines, but they were a good 12+ feet above me, but the AT Max was going crazy again. I tried different frequencies, I tried resetting the machine, using different modes and discrimination, I just couldn't get it to go away. So I worked the back yard (where there was no interference).

Any ideas / suggestions on how to deal with the interference? Anyone have experience with this?

Thanks!

I ran across the same situation using my AT Pro at a local school. Bumping down the sensitivity allowed me to still hunt but it didn't get rid of all the chatter. Changing the frequency had little to no effect. I couldn't see any real source of the interference. I hit the area again using my Vaquero and it had no issues.

The worst interference I encounter with my AT Max (and the Ace 400 that I owned prior to it) is with invisible dog fences. My neighbor has one, and it literally makes it impossible to hunt my own back yard (or have any hope for a test garden).