Any tips for using AT Pro?

Nubster

Just bought an AT Pro from a friend who bought it a number of years ago but literally never used it. It's never been swung. Got the detector and the Pro-Pointer. Been messing around a little but just wanted to see if there are any tips or tricks to help get the most out of this machine. I'm completely new to metal detecting too so keep that in mind. Thanks!

Goto pro mode discriminate up to 40 in iron audio with iron audio off unless you want to hear alot of iron.
Now listen to some coins
Now listen to alumfoil and pulltabs
If you have gold jewelry listen to it and watch your numbers too.
Gold rings will sound good and solid like coins.
Foil bits can sound scratchy with jumpy numbers.
Practice using it and you will understand more!
Happy hunting!

like metaladdict said, pro-mode.

I start at maximum sensitivity, iron disc at 35 when hunting my fields.

I turn iron audio off, but turn it back on when I locate a target.

I do pro-coin mode usually, but recently have been in pro-zero...with iron discrimination at 35...with lots of iron around I'll set it to 40.

Take your time and listen to the tones before you dig...I've considered carrying around a USB recorder with me so I can hear the tones, read off the numbers, and verbalize my finds so I can build a database...but definitely take your time and listen to the machine.

I am new to metal detecting and just got my first detector, an AT Pro last week. I watched a lot of youtube videos while waiting for it to arrive, so I feel like that really gave me a head start. I use mine in Pro Zero mode with iron discrimination at 35, iron audio off until I get a target. I didn't realize that a lot of gold rings ring up in the 40's range, so at first I didn't dig anything less than 50, but now I have been digging anything above 40. I have also become better at learning what trash targets sound like, but since I am new I still dig pretty much everything just to learn.