I'm lost. Help Ohio Detecting?

CouchSearcher

Ok, I live in South East Ohio near Zanesville.

I've looked a lot online, and can't find much about metal detecting in Ohio. There are several clubs, but none near here. I don't know where to to start or how to find out where to look and where it's even legal to go. I've read that it's legal in Ohio state parks, but only on sandy shores, and that you have to have a permit to look elsewhere.

Any advice on how to research places and just a general idea on how to start?

I've yet to get a MD, but I'm trying to see oif it'd even benefit me to get one. If I can't go anywhere other than my own property, I don't see much of a point to buy one. I see people on here talking about tot lots and stuff (I'm assuming those are like sandy areas for kids, like schools or something? I don't honestly know. I'm new to all of this. I'm looking for a healthy hobby, and have always liked treasure hunting and similar things.)

Basically, just need help getting started. Is Ohio even a good place to look, or is it unfriendly for metal detecting?

I'm in Ohio, there are lots of places all over. Any public park unless a posted sign. Friends and families yards . Get an old map of your city and compare it to the new one. See if any houses or buildings are now woodland or open lots. There is a site that will tell you where you can't ND in your county, I just don't have the link handy at the moment. If your unsure about an area, ask on here, or find out info on it , and find the property owner to ask permission. HH

I can't help you on any certain place in Ohio, but I can say this. Your in a really good part of the county to at least find old silver coins. I've seen a lot of posts on here from folks down your way finding good finds.