Minelab X-Terra 705?

fosgate3

I've been using a Garrett Ace 400 for a couple of years now and it's been fun but I think I am ready to upgrade to something better. I've considered the Garrett AT Pro but I'm not sure if will give me much more than the ability to detect in salt water (I seem to recall that being one of its features). I saw the Minelab X-Terra 705 and wondered how it would compare to what I have now and if anyone has used one. Amazon has it for the top of what I am looking to spend on one. I don't really know how each brand and their models stack up against each other. Thanks in advance!:grin:

IMO, the Xterra 705 is the best kept secret in detectors. It has been seriously underrated, mostly by users that never hang on to it long enough to really learn all that it can do. Considering that it is/was the first all digital detector on the market, and was at least half of the foundation of the now legendary CTX3030, I would say that without doubt it is a giant step up from your Garrett.

Check out Minelab's website, and download Randy Horton's FREE e-book "Understanding Your X-Terra" if you'd like to get an idea of it's flexibility and capability.
(which reminds me.....I need to give Randy a call today)

I have owned a few of the X-terra machines. Actually, every model. 305, 505, 70, 705. Anyway, great machines. I really liked the 70 the best. Nothing wrong with the 705, mind you. I liked the flexibility of changing the coil , change the frequency. The coils were a little pricey though. The prices on the used X-terra machines have really dropped in the last few years. This is good for those starting this great hobby.
My biggest problem with Minelab is that they don't support their older models very long. I have owned a couple of White's detectors and recently acquired an MX Sport. White's customer service is second to none and they support their older machines still today. They are made in the USA and they just build a good, long lasting product.