• Forum server maintanace Friday night.(around 7PM Centeral time)
    Website will be off line for a short while.

You may need to log out, log back in after we're back online.

Complete newb needs advice on old home search

sandandsurf

Hi, complete newb here hoping for some friendly advice on searching an old home from the late 1800s. This house is still in good shape and being lived in. What I need to know is, can a metal detector be used to search ceilings and walls, wood floors, stone foundation, attics, chimneys, etc?

Will the electrical wiring cause constant interference or can that somehow be adjusted for? What about nails? What about old pipes?

I am just wondering if it would be a futile endeavor to use a detector inside a house or if it could actually work. If there is a particular model you would recommend, please let me know. Any other info that you think would be useful is welcome, as well. Thanks.

sandandsurf

No any detector in a house or even too close to it would be a waste of time . The chatter would drive you insane.

If it's abandoned and you have permission, think in terms of where you would hide a stash of valuables -- and look there.

(Edit: look with eyes, not a detector.)

Under stair risers; in 3/4 inch holes drilled into tops of doors; beneath floor boards in attics; in false bottoms in cupboards; cedar chests; or dresser/kitchen drawers; buried in dirt-floor basements; hollowed out books, etc.

Last edited:
If it's abandoned and you have permission, think in terms of where you would hide a stash of valuables -- and look there.

Under stair risers; in 3/4 inch holes drilled into tops of doors; beneath floor boards in attics; in false bottoms in cupboards; cedar chests; or dresser/kitchen drawers; buried in dirt-floor basements; hollowed out books, etc.

In the original post, they said the house is being lived in.