Bad luck at 1860s park: hunted out or trash masking?

BanjoBobby

I'm pretty new to the hobby. I've been trying to find good local places to find old coins. I looked up old maps for my area, and found a small park in the middle of town that predates 1866. The park use to sit in the edge of a fairground, which has long since been covered by houses.

I spent an hour detecting at the park with my Equinox 800 and only found one zinc lincoln. No obvious coin signals (i.e. >22). But every foot or two there was signal in the 13-17 range. I tried digging a few of these and got some nails, a very old looking can, and a shotgun cap (old).

Do you more experienced diggers think this pattern is more consistent with a previoulsy hunted out park, or trash masking the good stuff? I don't have a lot of free time, so I'm wondering if I should move on to a different site. But I don't know what to expect at a really old park (I've mostly hunted school yards and mid-century properties).

Thanks!

....Do you more experienced diggers think this pattern is more consistent with a previoulsy hunted out park, or trash masking the good stuff?....

Welcome from CA.

Unless an experienced park hunter samples your particular park-in-question, there's almost no -way to answer whether or not you were doing something wrong.

It could be that the park was re-turfed (new top soil brought in) at some time in the recent decade or two ? It could be that it's been hunted to a frazzle (even including the modern clad). Or it could be that you're doing something wrong. Without someone being there to compare flagged signals, there's just no way to know, in printed text, what you might have been doing wrong.

The best way to advance up the ranks in turf-hunting for old coins, is this: